Greetings & Salutations

I have always hated first posts because I never know what to say by way of introduction. Which is probably why it has taken me so long to actually get around to formally setting up this blog and writing something.  So let’s just jump in and see where this takes me!

The title for this blog, as you may have noticed, is “Musings of a Modern Witch.”  That would seem to be fairly self explanatory.  Yes, I am a modern Witch and have been for almost 30 years.  Yes, I practice magic and follow the old Celtic Gods and I have been a priestess of the Morrigan for over 20 years, long before she became “popular.”  I also honor and work with Cerridwen, Danu, Bridgit, and Herne, the Hunter but I am specifically dedicated and bound to Morrigan.  That said, you won’t find too many posts here specifically about my dealings with my gods.  That’s something very personal and private.

What you will find is posts about how I view and practice magic, discussions about working with crystal, herbs, stones, my cats (I have 4 who mean the world to me), how to incorporate a magical twist to everyday arts and crafts, and other random bits of information that happens to pop into my head that I may feel like talking about.  This is, after all, about the random “musings of a modern Witch!”

One thing I would like to point out is that while I am a Witch, I am not one of the Wiccan variety.  I do not believe in nor adhere to the Wiccan Rede’s concept of “harm none,” nor the idea of the Threefold Law of Return.  Yes, I do believe that we tend to attract what we put out, and that if you constantly act like a jerk out in the world, the world will reflect that back at you.  What I don’t believe is that hexing, cursing, or working baneful magic against an enemy is automatically a bad thing.  I believe in self defense, protecting one’s hearth and home, kith and kin, and using whatever means necessary to do so.

This isn’t to say that I think placing a hex on the idiot who cut you off in traffic is a good idea, but if someone at school is bullying your kid, or someone at work is making your life miserable, you have every right to use magic to make them stop or make them go away.  If a simple binding or bottle spell will get the job done, great!  But sometimes greater magical force is necessary and I will not hesitate to use it, nor will I hesitate to write about it.

So, if I should post about curses or hexes and you get your broom in a twist over it, don’t bother trying to tell me I’m a bad Witch, not a “true Witch,” or that “karma” will get me.  In nearly 30 years I’ve never seen the Universe or the Gods work that way unless it is something a given Witch has incorporated into their belief system.

Okay, now that we have gotten *that* out of the way, welcome to “Musings of a Modern Witch.”  Kick off your shoes, grab a cup of coffee and stay a while!  I hope you enjoy reading my posts as much as I enjoy writing them!

~Kelly NicDruegan

2 thoughts on “Greetings & Salutations

  1. Hi and welcome to the blogosphere, and well done for getting over first-post-paralysis.

    The Law of Threefold Return as formulated by most people (the idea that if you do bad stuff, the law of karma will bite you on the arse threefold) is not a part of Gardnerian Wicca.

    The full Wiccan Rede is “An it harm none, do what thou wilt” which cannot be reduced to “harm none”. It means that as every action is potentially harmful, you can’t just do what you want, and that we need to take responsibility for our actions. (I really must write a blogpost about this.)

    Like

    • Thanks for the welcome. I’ve actually been reading your blogs for a while now and thoroughly enjoy them. And yeah, I agree with you about the actual nature of the Rede as opposed to the prevalent misinterpretation you see in far too many groups that identify as Wiccan without any apparent understanding of the true history of what Gardner was trying to accomplish. I would love to see a post about the actual history of the Rede 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment